top of page

Group

Public·18 members

Taking It Gay Hard

Being black and gay has been especially hard since I have moved here from California. I work two jobs and on my part time job...I get comments all the time about my hair, or someone will tell my boss I made them feel weird inside. Downtown where my day job is I get a lot of slack about my ethnicity. I braid my hair in the summer and keep it neat, yet I have had companies tell me to cut my hair even though it is not even down to my neck. I never know if people are giving me a hard time because I am black or because I am gay.

taking it gay hard

The repeal fulfills a promise Mr. Obama made to his supporters during his presidential campaign. Some of those supporters were becoming disillusioned because it was taking so long. In many cases, gay activists were openly critical - even hostile to the White House.

Mr. DAN SAVAGE (Columnist): There were back-channel communications coming out of the White House to take comfort, and to remember that he's going to have two terms - which is hardly the fierce urgency of now, or fierce advocacy, or fierce anything.

SHAPIRO: Republican Senator Susan Collins of Maine, and independent Joe Lieberman of Connecticut, sponsored the bill that successfully repealed "don't ask, don't tell." And those two are hardly surrogates for President Obama. A repeal effort that was embedded in a larger, defense-authorization bill failed just days earlier.

"It's just one of those things that fans kind of get into the game. Obviously, we're pretty frustrated on our side and I had just hit a ball hard and had Cron make a good play," Joyce said. "I was walking back to the dugout and just had a fan yell some vulgar and obscene words. For me it just wasn't the right time to say some stuff like that. I fired back and obviously as soon as you fire back, you regret saying anything, because it's just not worth it."